Senators Join USDA Rural Development to Announce Energy-Saving Initiatives in Seven Delaware Municipalities

MILFORD, Del. – Today U.S. Sens. Tom Carper and Chris Coons and U.S. Representative John Carney (all D-Del.) joined USDA Rural Development State Director Bill McGowan to announce energy saving initiatives in New Castle, Kent and Sussex Counties through the Rural Economic Development Loan and Grant Program.

Delaware’s first recipient of this program, the Delaware Municipal Electric Corporation, will loan funds to seven rural municipalities to convert existing street lights to more affordable LED lights. The municipalities, Middletown, Smyrna, Clayton, Dover, Milford, Seaford and Lewes, will receive loans in total of $593,120 for 10 years at zero percent interest.

The USDA loan will support the installation of 700 new LED street lights in the eligible communities saving customers thousands of dollars annually while reducing harmful carbon dioxide emissions.

 (Pictured From left) Clayton councilwoman Mary Ellen DeBenidictis, Smyrna Town Manager Dave Hugg, Seaford Town Manager Dolores Slatcher, USDA Rural Development State Directors Marlene Elliott Brown and Bill McGown, Milford Mayor Bryan Shupe, Rep. John Carney, U.S. Sen. Chris Coons (D-Del.), U.S. Sen. Tom Carper (D-Del.) and DEMEC President Patrick McCullar. Standing in the utility truck are Milford employees Jared Elliott and Chris Hitchens.

Click here to read the full article.