Overview - Delaware Municipal Electric Corporation, Inc.

About DEMEC > Overview


DEMEC was incorporated in 1979 as a public corporation constituted as a Joint Action Agency and a wholesale electric utility. DEMEC represents and serves the nine municipal electric distribution utilities located in the State of Delaware.

Members of DEMEC are the cities and towns of Clayton, Dover, Lewes, Middletown, Milford, New Castle, Newark, Seaford and Smyrna.  Collectively, they serve over 129,000 residents and businesses in their respective communities. In total DEMEC’s Members have a peak load over 465 Megawatts.  DEMEC is a generation owner and the PJM Load Serving Entity (“LSE”) for eight of these municipal utilities (except Dover) and provides 100% of their wholesale power supply requirements.